IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

If you made a script you can offer it to the others here, or ask help to improve it. You can also report here bugs & problems with existing scripts.
Post Reply
doctormaligno
Posts: 10
Joined: 2008-02-01 02:17:43

IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by doctormaligno »

Hello,

I edited IMDb script so it'll use Spanish title for translated title instead of English alternative title.
It works fine except when there's also a title in Catalan (that's a regional language in northeastern Spain).
Since it appears first in IMDb alternative page, that's the one the script uses.

Is there a workaround for this?
I can't find a way.

Thanks a lot for this amazing software and for your time.
doctormaligno
Posts: 10
Joined: 2008-02-01 02:17:43

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by doctormaligno »

Unfortunately, on the latest 4.2.2-beta this is still happening.

EDIT:
This is an example of how it shows on IMDb:
Spain Ciudadano Kane
Spain (Catalan title) Ciutadà Kane

If I set the UserCountry in script parameters as Spain, whenever there's a Catalan title, that's the one AMC gets from the IMDb script.
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by antp »

It is strange because how the script is made it should stop at the first result found :??: And I get the Spanish title first.
Maybe in your case IMDb sends the Catalan title first?
If so, a workaround could be to take in account the titles that match exactly the country (so no match if there is an extra detail between parenthesis):
replace

Code: Select all

if pos(AKACountry(), value) > 0 then
by

Code: Select all

if AKACountry() = value then
doctormaligno
Posts: 10
Joined: 2008-02-01 02:17:43

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by doctormaligno »

Thank you for your quick answer!
I'll look into that.
cunhak9
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-03-15 17:46:10
Location: Portugal

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by cunhak9 »

Hi, im not creating a new topic because its a similar problem so;

Im using amc 4.2.2.1 and the last imdb script 4.013 and i cant get the Title Translated with the script, it gets all the rest fine, the UserCountry is config to my language(portugal) but even if i change to other language, it still dont get any title translated -.-
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by antp »

There is indeed something about titles on my to-do list since more than a month, I assume it is the same problem.
I should take some time for it ... some day
cunhak9
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-03-15 17:46:10
Location: Portugal

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by cunhak9 »

antp wrote: 2018-12-20 18:24:33 There is indeed something about titles on my to-do list since more than a month, I assume it is the same problem.
I should take some time for it ... some day
Thanks you, i appreciate that, looking for future updates!
cunhak9
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-03-15 17:46:10
Location: Portugal

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by cunhak9 »

Happy new year! :grinking:

Any news about the Title Translated fix?
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by antp »

Happy New Year
Not checked yet, sorry
cunhak9
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-03-15 17:46:10
Location: Portugal

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by cunhak9 »

Thanks to user athe , the fix is:

edit the script in atm program, replace the lines 478 to 512 with;

Code: Select all

  // AKA Name
  if CanSetField(fieldTranslatedTitle) then
  begin
    FullValue := ConvertToASCII(GetPage(MovieURL+'/releaseinfo#akas'));
    FullValue := TextBetween(FullValue, 'id="akas"', '</table>');
     while Fullvalue <> '' do
     begin
      Value2 := TextBetween(FullValue, ' <td class="aka-item__name">', '</td>');  //country
      Value := TextBetween(FullValue, '<td class="aka-item__title">', '</td>');   //title
      HTMLDecode(Value2);
      if (GetParam('UserCountry') = Value2) then
      begin
        HTMLDecode(Value);
        SetField(fieldTranslatedTitle, FullTrim(Value));
        FullValue := '';
      end
      else  FullValue := TextAfter(FullValue, '</tr>');
     end;

Tested and working!
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by antp »

Thanks, I updated it on the server
athe
Posts: 170
Joined: 2013-06-01 20:26:24
Location: Poland

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by athe »

this line has to be changed

Code: Select all

if (GetParam('UserCountry') = Value2) then
to

Code: Select all

 if AKACountry() = Value2 then

Code: Select all

// AKA Name
  if CanSetField(fieldTranslatedTitle) then
  begin
    FullValue := ConvertToASCII(GetPage(MovieURL+'/releaseinfo#akas'));
    FullValue := TextBetween(FullValue, 'id="akas"', '</table>');
     while Fullvalue <> '' do
     begin
      Value2 := TextBetween(FullValue, ' <td class="aka-item__name">', '</td>');  //country
      Value := TextBetween(FullValue, '<td class="aka-item__title">', '</td>');   //title
      HTMLDecode(Value2);
     if AKACountry() = Value2 then   //this line must be for users from the USA and UK
      begin
        HTMLDecode(Value);
        SetField(fieldTranslatedTitle, FullTrim(Value));
        FullValue := '';
      end
      else  FullValue := TextAfter(FullValue, '</tr>');
     end;
  end;

  // Comments
only for users from the USA and UK
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by antp »

Thanks
(well it should work for all users, but indeed useful only for UK/US)
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: IMDb Translated Title Regional Title Issue

Post by antp »

New version 4.016, asking to select the translated title if multiple are found.
Titles identical to original one are ignored.
First one is taken by default is BatchMode is enabled.
Post Reply