PK's MovieDB Release.V3.0 (Dynamic PHP View)

If you made a template for printing or HTML export, you can offer it to the others here. You can also ask here for help about these templates
Post Reply
mjs7231
Posts: 60
Joined: 2005-07-27 23:17:15

PK's MovieDB Release.V3.0 (Dynamic PHP View)

Post by mjs7231 »

This is the released PK's MovieDB V3.0

This is a more in depth, possibly easier to use version of PKs Movie Database. Totally rewritten from version 2.2, I expect this to be much easier to customize in the end, once we work out all the kinks.

What's New! (quite a bit):
- Complete rewrite from previous version.
- Created classes to represent movies and panels.
- Added Template system for easy customization.
- New / flashier default template created.
- Default template now resizes and caches cover images (removes pixilization).
- Now supports multible 'Views'. See you movie list in more than 1 way.
- Side panels now work as expected, number displays are correct.
- More powerful search, can now "phrases in quotes" and the +- keys.
- Added Breadcumbs thinger at the top. Easier to see filters.
- Calling mdb3.php displays the database (extra index.php file not required).
- Now supports comma seperated variables, fixes the multible categories issue.
- Much better Panel support, pick and choose what you want.
- 'Useless' panels will automatically not be displayed.
- Configuration moved into a config.inc file.
- Automatically import .SQL file into your database (experimental).

Todo: Add a 'cache_html' option for faster loader (delete cache in auto_import')
Todo: Create Template that does not require ImageGD
Todo: Finish main template (Description / Comments / Director / Producer)
Todo: Better template support on the Single Movie View
Todo: Finish README.txt for Templates (list all available options)
Todo: Fix non-Strict HTML compliant code in template

This is the first public release of version 3.0. Surely means there may be a few kinks to work out (same deal as last time), please let me know if you find anything!

This is on Bitbucket now: https://bitbucket.org/mjs7231/pks-movie-database

Copyright © 2006-2007 PK-Designs, Some Rights Reserved. This work is licensed under a "Creative Commons License" The below is a human-readable summary of the full Legal Code found at: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5
Last edited by mjs7231 on 2014-06-12 15:07:07, edited 7 times in total.
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

Hi!

Thx for this nice program.

I want to use it for my movie db but i'm a noob :)
Let me tell you what i have made:

downloaded xampp
sql + phpmyadmin running
ant movie db exported to sql
importet movie db into sql
configured mdb_config.inc

At this point everything works fine.
What do have to do to see a result on my local server?

greets

r32
kazgor
Posts: 175
Joined: 2006-05-08 13:13:52
Contact:

Post by kazgor »

Fabulous Michael, downloading it now and will have a play with this once my Saturday duties are done.

Oh and thanks for going with the config.inc idea, its comes in useful when you have a live server and a local test server :)
kazgor
Posts: 175
Joined: 2006-05-08 13:13:52
Contact:

Post by kazgor »

@r32

Sounds like you gone through all the steps correctly, make sure you've updated mdb_config.inc with your database details, then you should be able to do

http://127.0.0.1/moviedb3/mdb3.php

to see the results.

note i have mine installed in MOVIEDB3 folder, but the important bit is MDB3.PHP
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

@kazgor

I get this message:

Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'ODBC'@'localhost' (using password: NO) in D:\Dokumente\DB\xampp\htdocs\moviedb\mysql_db.inc on line 31
Cannot connect to database 127.0.0.1 with login .

I dont know what to do now.

I've copied the moviedb-folder into the htdocs-folder in xampp.
And when i want to look on http://127.0.0.1/moviedb/mdb3.php , I get the above named message
kazgor
Posts: 175
Joined: 2006-05-08 13:13:52
Contact:

Post by kazgor »

sounds like you not filled in the MDB_CONFIG correctly, did you put the details inside QUOTES?

oh when it says "<server>" that means replace <server> with your server ie "127.0.0.1" say goes with the other details.
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

Now it works.

But there is an error if i use the search option:

Warning: require_once(../../globals.inc) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in D:\xampp\htdocs\moviedb\index.php on line 9
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

Is it possible that the Movie DB will be updated automatically if i modify my ant file?
kazgor
Posts: 175
Joined: 2006-05-08 13:13:52
Contact:

Post by kazgor »

r32 wrote:Is it possible that the Movie DB will be updated automatically if i modify my ant file?
you will need to export any changes you make Ant catalogue to an SQL file, and if you have MDB3 experiment import enabled it will see the SQL file and update the database for you.

the other problem you having with searching is because the enclosed Index.Php file is written for PKW mainsite so we wont have any of the extra includes that it uses.

We need to create a simple Index.php file instead that then calls MDB3. I'll have a go once i get some time if MJS doesnt beat me to it ;)
MisconductQC
Posts: 49
Joined: 2005-11-30 15:58:57
Location: Quebec

Post by MisconductQC »

I want free webhosting but awardspace.com dont have enough space for my real cover.

And i cant send picture of more than 500KB
mjs7231
Posts: 60
Joined: 2005-07-27 23:17:15

Post by mjs7231 »

r32 wrote:Now it works.

But there is an error if i use the search option:

Warning: require_once(../../globals.inc) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in D:\xampp\htdocs\moviedb\index.php on line 9
This is the first valid bug, I already fixed it, but want to wait a few more hours before releasing it (in case we find more).

Two reasons:
1.) The index file was not actually supposed to be included. One quick fix would be to grab the contents in the "if" statement at the bottom of mdb3.php and toss that into your index.php file.
2.) Search was automatically calling index.php (not correct).

--------------
EDIT: Might as well send this small update. No changes have been made to mdb_config.inc (so you don't need to overwrite that file). Latest version can always be found here:
http://pkwebstudio.com/apps/moviedb/
Last edited by mjs7231 on 2007-01-08 05:23:23, edited 1 time in total.
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

I guess there is another little "bug".

@mjs7231
choose in your DB the covers view and try to click on the very first cover.
you will whats the result :)


greets

r32
mjs7231
Posts: 60
Joined: 2005-07-27 23:17:15

Post by mjs7231 »

Fixed in v3.0.2, uploading now.
http://pkwebstudio.com/apps/moviedb/

Hopefully we can get all these little tweaking bugs out of the way rather quickly. :)
Last edited by mjs7231 on 2007-01-08 05:23:33, edited 1 time in total.
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

Which files should i replace if i want to use 3.0.2?
mjs7231
Posts: 60
Joined: 2005-07-27 23:17:15

Post by mjs7231 »

r32 wrote:Which files should i replace if i want to use 3.0.2?
You are pretty much always going to be safe if you just replace everything BUT mdb_config.inc (unless I specifially say this file has been changed). A good idea might be to set your mdb_config.inc file as read only, or maybe just create a backup someplace. (be careful tho, this file contains your passwords, you want to make sure its not viewable to the world).

That said, the only file I updated was "templates/default/cover_view.tpl".
kazgor
Posts: 175
Joined: 2006-05-08 13:13:52
Contact:

Post by kazgor »

@r32,

I've tried what you said using MJS example site and i can click on the first movie cover and i get no errors and the correct movie info is shown.

Could you elaberate further?


*edit*

haha.. guess MJS updated the site before i posted back.. (should have done a refresh first)
Last edited by kazgor on 2007-01-06 21:40:34, edited 1 time in total.
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

@kazgor thats because the new version is running there ;)
r32
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-01-06 09:17:11

Post by r32 »

Hmm, search function does not work. i get the message object not found.

I will check what i've made wrong :)

EDIT: "_TEXT" in search field ?
kazgor
Posts: 175
Joined: 2006-05-08 13:13:52
Contact:

Post by kazgor »

A nice simple one from me.

On Hover over the X of the Search area shows $LANG[CLEARSEARCH], this is simple because the field is not defined in the language file.

Simple edit is to add in English.inc

$this->lang['CLEARSEARCH'] = "Clear Search";

:)
mjs7231
Posts: 60
Joined: 2005-07-27 23:17:15

Post by mjs7231 »

r32 wrote:EDIT: "_TEXT" in search field ?
Search works for me, any more details on the error your received? I think you are using old mdb3.php code (try updating this with the newest one).
kazgor wrote:$this->lang['CLEARSEARCH'] = "Clear Search";
Its fixed and will be in the next version.
Post Reply