Page 1 of 1

Show Record In Question When IMDB Running

Posted: 2011-01-21 11:14:52
by Dobermann
Is there any way to see each and every record that is being run by the IMDB script as it is running? So many movies have been re-made and, therefore, share the same name but have different years. I have to see each record to see if the year matches, but it does not show this info when it is running.

Thanks!
Dobermann

Posted: 2011-01-23 14:10:11
by antp
Do you mean, when the program asks to select the title in a list, knowing which current entry in your movie list you are going to replace/update?

It would be possible to achieve that by adding as a first entry of the treeview (showing found titles) the current title/year, so by looking at the first entry of the list you'll know what you update.
If it is what you want and do not know how to add that, I can give you the code for it.

Posted: 2011-01-24 06:58:40
by Dobermann
Yes, exactly! Right now I am opening up two instances of AMC and having to remember each title name it asks to process. Then, if I get the treeview, I flip over to the other instance of AMC and look up what year for the record that I have. Many times I have two or even three different years with the same title due to the remakes of movies.

I would love to have the code for it if you don't mind. I think that as a general rule it would be nice to always see that info for the selected record (title & year - both fields if possible) whenever presented with the treeview showing found titles.

Thank you so much, both for your help and this great program!

Dobermann

Posted: 2011-01-24 11:27:33
by antp
In the IMDB script, locate the line containing "PickTreeClear".
Just after that line, add the following line:

Code: Select all

PickTreeAdd('Current: ' + GetField(fieldOriginalTitle) + ' (' + GetField(fieldYear) +')', '');

Posted: 2011-01-25 04:07:24
by Dobermann
Oh, how sweet! Thank you so much! That's going to also be nice for when it cannot find the movie title and it suggests a list of similar ones for us to choose from. When you are doing a whole bunch at a time, when you get to be my age, you forget the name of the movie you were just doing. With this, now I don't have to always try to remember!

If it were up to me, I would make it a permanent inclusion to the script for everyone to benefit from - that's how handy it is!

Thank you again!
Dobermann

PS - I only added it once. I ignored the second instance of PickTreeClear in the Google section. I did not need it in both, did I? It worked without it in the Google section.

Posted: 2011-01-26 09:15:23
by antp
I did not notice the other one, it seems to be used in case the search is done through google, which is an option that you can enable in the scripts options.
So the line could be added there too actually.