Page 1 of 1

[REQ] Launch/View Movie Option

Posted: 2006-03-03 04:46:58
by Hout555
Hi everybody. First of all I d' like to give my regards to the author of this great program. :grinking:

Secondly... I have a question :D

Is there a way to launch a movie from within the Ant Movie catalog?

As I scroll down the list I would like to hit e.g. the Enter key and execute a command e.g. "wmplayer.exe C:\test.avi" so I could watch the movie/clip instantly of goimg manually to the corresponding directory via the Windows Explorer and launch the file from there.

Can this be done via a script or some other way?
Thank you :)

Posted: 2006-03-03 08:35:26
by antp
Hi,
If you fill the "url" field with the path of the video file, you can launch it with the button on the right of that field.

Posted: 2006-03-03 09:18:30
by Hout555
Yessss that worked !!! :D Great Tip Thanks a lot

I also saw at the help of the program that there is a "procedure Launch(command: string; parameters: string);".
Can anyone post a script with the use of just that command?

Posted: 2006-03-03 11:02:59
by antp

Code: Select all

program NewScript;

begin
  Launch(GetField(fieldURL), '');
end.
or if you want to specify a player, ex:

Code: Select all

program NewScript;

begin
  Launch('c:\program files\winamp\winamp.exe', GetField(fieldURL));
end.

Posted: 2006-03-03 12:09:25
by Hout555
Perfect man. It works like a charm. :grinking:

Is there anywhere a beginners/stupid :lol: guide for scripting in Ant Movie Catalogue?

And a request/question to the author

Can we expect an option to a future release of the program that binds the enter key to the above function?

Thank you for everything :wink:

Posted: 2006-03-03 12:53:57
by antp
For scripting, there is a very short explanation in the help file, but it assumes that you have some Pascal/Delphi programming knowledge.
You can also see existing scripts.

About the enter key, maybe I could add another shortcut, which would also work when one of the field is active rather than the list.

Posted: 2006-03-03 15:06:54
by Hout555
I consider my problem, well not problem exactly, my wish solved.

Here is what I did.

1) I wrote (actually pasted :lol: ) the script you gave me.
2) I hit F6 and selected my script so it is the last one used
3) In the Preferences>Scripting I checked the option "Auto-run last script used"
4) So every time I want to see a movie, I just tap F6 and the movie plays :hihi:

And there is always available the Shift-F6 combination to select a new script.

Perfect :D

Posted: 2006-03-04 11:57:05
by Teebee
antp wrote:Hi,
If you fill the "url" field with the path of the video file, you can launch it with the button on the right of that field.
which button ? :hum:

Posted: 2006-03-04 12:39:43
by Hout555
Teebee wrote:
antp wrote:Hi,
If you fill the "url" field with the path of the video file, you can launch it with the button on the right of that field.
which button ? :hum:
The one that drops the pull down menu of the URL field.
It's a kind of hidden function... That's why I called it Tip at my second post.

Click On it and a small menu will pop up with two options
1) Open URL
2) Browse

Select "Open Url" to launch what is written in the URL field (it can be a URL or filename, thats the trick) or select "Browse" to find the file yourself.

Or you can simply select that field and tap the "Enter" key. The file will launch again

This program is great :D

Posted: 2006-03-06 16:27:30
by Teebee
Well, i know if a previous version, it had a globe icon besides the url field, which you could press and then it opened the link.

I miss that button :/

Posted: 2006-03-06 18:41:34
by Hout555
Well, I started with this version :ha: and I'm very pleased with that solution.

Besides the author said that he might put an "Enter key" launch to a future version, so hang on ;)

Posted: 2006-03-06 22:21:50
by antp
Now you have 2 clicks rather than 1 to open the URL, but I did not know where else to put the "browse" menu item...
You can also doubleclick on the URL.

Posted: 2006-03-07 17:56:06
by Hout555
Hout555 wrote:Here is what I did.

1) I wrote (actually pasted :lol: ) the script you gave me.
2) I hit F6 and selected my script so it is the last one used
3) In the Preferences>Scripting I checked the option "Auto-run last script used"
4) So every time I want to see a movie, I just tap F6 and the movie plays :hihi:
Damn!!! My solution has a bug :mad:
Whenever I hit the F6 and my script launches, the program thinks that the script altered the database and when I try to close the program I'm getting the "Do you want to save the changes" dialog box.

It's not very annoying but is there a way to overcome this? :??:

Posted: 2006-03-07 18:43:32
by antp
Strange, I thought that I did a check somewhere to see if the fields were modified. So it is maybe a small bug in the program :D