Number of channels in AC3 sound

Comments on existing version & Suggestions for future versions. If you want a new feature suggest it here. Discussions about beta versions also come in this section.
Post Reply
Yorgul
Posts: 13
Joined: 2003-01-22 23:26:26

Number of channels in AC3 sound

Post by Yorgul »

Is it possible to add the number of channels when the audio format is AC3? It could be in the same field, like AC3-2 or AC3-6.

Thanks in advance.
Yorgul
Yorgul
Posts: 13
Joined: 2003-01-22 23:26:26

Post by Yorgul »

I don't mean adding it manually, I mean detecting it from the movie ;)

Yorgul
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9639
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by antp »

I'll have to find how this is coded in the file, if it is not in the audio stream header of the AVI I won't add that...
Mguel
Posts: 39
Joined: 2003-01-28 10:48:14

Post by Mguel »

:(

I'll love that feature...

It's so different to have a stereo AC3 than a 5.1 AC3, that would be nice to know if it's a 5.1 by looking to the catalog...

Thanks in advance,
Mguel

PS: I hope that its on the AVI header or you change your desicion. Thanks anyway.
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9639
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by antp »

Mguel wrote:or you change your desicion
It is not because I do not want, it is because I can't :D

In the future I will probably use this :
http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
that will allow me to get much more info ;)
Mguel
Posts: 39
Joined: 2003-01-28 10:48:14

Post by Mguel »

antp wrote:In the future I will probably use this :
http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
that will allow me to get much more info ;)
Great! :D

I use GSpot, but it's not open source, so it won't help you... so it's great that Media Info exists.

Thanks,
Mguel
lac21
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-09-25 17:55:48

Post by lac21 »

It's easy to find out if you look at the audio bitrates.
192 kbps -> Stereo
384 or 448 kbps -> 5.1

And for antp:
Could you insert this line to Codecs.ini:
2001=DTS
So the avi files with DTS stream would be also recognised. THX
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9639
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by antp »

ok ;)
lac21
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-09-25 17:55:48

Post by lac21 »

Here is a little script for the AC3 problem:

Code: Select all

// GETINFO SCRIPTING
// AC3 analyzer

program AC3Analyzer;
begin
  if (GetField(fieldAudioFormat) = 'AC3') and ((GetField(fieldAudioBitrate) = '384') or (GetField(fieldAudioBitrate) = '448')) then
  SetField(fieldAudioFormat, 'AC3 5.1');
  if (GetField(fieldAudioFormat) = 'AC3') and (GetField(fieldAudioBitrate) = '192') then
  SetField(fieldAudioFormat, 'AC3 2.0')
end.
Select all movies, press F6 and run this script.
theJABBERWOCK
Posts: 2
Joined: 2003-11-03 18:57:15

Post by theJABBERWOCK »

that will not necessarily be true. i have several older films that are 448 but are only 4 channel. many movies from the late 60's early 70's that were considered high quality for their time are only 4 channel. some have been remastered to simulate 5.1 instead of the 4 channel dual-stereo method used then however many still have not.
lac21
Posts: 6
Joined: 2003-09-25 17:55:48

Post by lac21 »

OK, you're right. I also have 256kbps AC3 but it's rare.
This script works for most of the (new) movies.
theJABBERWOCK
Posts: 2
Joined: 2003-11-03 18:57:15

Post by theJABBERWOCK »

if this feature is implemented in the next version (i hope it is) there are a few other things to look for - 6.1 sound and multi-stream files come to mind. i know i have found a few in my collection that read as ac3+ac3 384kbps and it is actually listing two 192kbps streams and then adding the bitrates.
Post Reply