New Template

If you made a template for printing or HTML export, you can offer it to the others here. You can also ask here for help about these templates
Raff

Post by Raff »

I replaced the <br> by <br /> (xml!) but it gave no better result... Help!! :cry:
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by antp »

what kind of popup is it ?
try with
Raff

Post by Raff »

The popup of the template xslt (where you see the picture, rating, actors, director, description,....). the <br> is create automaticaly when I export my database to movies.xml (if there is a line break in my description of course).
Willspo
Posts: 61
Joined: 2002-08-14 15:50:23

Post by Willspo »

Actually most of the fields in movies.xml is in a cdata clause which means that the xml parser will read everything in there as data (not code like <br>). If you want code within your description try to change (in movies.xml template):

Code: Select all

<description><![CDATA[$$ITEM_DESCRIPTION]]></description>
to:

Code: Select all

<description>$$ITEM_DESCRIPTION</description>
But you might get errors due to unallowed white space characters (that is why cdata is there ;) ). And also like Ant said all tags have to closed in xml so <br> will be <br />.

Good luck!
Raff

Post by Raff »

:grinking: Ok thanks ! Now i understand why i have the <br>. But I don't care. I don't need code in my description. The <br> is create automaticaly. I replace it by ". " in all the file movies.xml and it's ok for me.

Je n'arrive pas a faire ma phrase en anglais ici : Comment puis-je empecher la creation de ces <br> lors de l'exportation ?

Thanks !
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by antp »

Raff wrote:Je n'arrive pas a faire ma phrase en anglais ici : Comment puis-je empecher la creation de ces <br> lors de l'exportation ?
Dans Outils -> Préférences -> Exportation il y a une option pour ça. Laisse le champ vide si les retour à la ligne ne doivent pas être remplacés (et dans ce cas tu peux aussi laisser le CDATA dans le XML, qui gèrera convenablement ce retour à la ligne, ce qui ne sera pas le cas du classique <description>$$ITEM....</description>)

In Tools -> Preferences -> Export there is an option for that. Keep the field empty if the linebreak shound not be replaced (and in this case, you can also keep the CDATA in the XML, it will manage these linebreaks correctly, where the classic <description>$$ITEM....</description> won't)
raff

Post by raff »

:) thanks a lot !!! It's work !
jojo

Post by jojo »

Sorry guys, but is there a chance, that anyone can give me a "Step by step" instruction on how to use Willspos` template (The one you can download in the first post)?

I`ve read the included readme but I can`t really follow the instructions, expecially the first point: "1.Save the file data/movies.xml as something.html and place it in the same directory as your Movie Catalog templates."

There`s something I´m doing wrong, it does not work.... :??:

Maybe someone can help me out... :)

greetz and thx

jojo
*Guest* - Frau Holle
Posts: 46
Joined: 2002-12-14 19:24:59

Post by *Guest* - Frau Holle »

1. Step: Download Willspo's Template. And unzip.

2. Step: Open the Ant Movie Catalog and klick left "HTML-export" which you can find under "export".

3. Step: There you choose the template which is in the downloaded Willspo-folder.

4. Step: On the bottom you can find "export". There you choose movies.xml, which you can find in the "data"-subfolder of the downloaded folder. If somebody asks if you wanna overwrite - yes ;)

5. Step: execute the index.html


Fucking english :)
jojo

Post by jojo »

THX man! :grinking:

btw: German is my main language... :hihi:
*Guest* - Frau Holle
Posts: 46
Joined: 2002-12-14 19:24:59

Post by *Guest* - Frau Holle »

www.chrisgideon.com unter Anleitungen

da ist auch meine Version von Willspo's Template.
turtle

Post by turtle »

okay, now I also got it running. except for the pictures.

AMC exported the pictures to the data folder; why are they not showing in the template?
*Guest* - Frau Holle
Posts: 46
Joined: 2002-12-14 19:24:59

Post by *Guest* - Frau Holle »

Be sure that you klick on a movie for detailed information. Only there you can see a pic.

What happens if the pop-up with the movie infoemation comes? Is there nothing in the box left? Is there an error with IE? Please make a screenshoot, so we can help much better.
turtle

Post by turtle »

Okay, here is the screenshot. You can see the movie list loaded and there is no error. There is a jpg image available in the data directory, but it is not showing when I open the film's details.

Image
turtle

Post by turtle »

Hey, strange. in preview it loaded the image, but not in the post. so try again, now with url:
http://turtle20003.tripod.com/Images/screen1.gif
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by antp »

to view the picture that's on tripod's forum you have to copy link to a new window ;)

In your html exported list, if you right click on the picture and select properties, what's the link (url of the pic) ?
turtle

Post by turtle »

file:///C:/Applications/Ant%20Movie%20Catalog/Templates/Willspo%20Template%203%20-%

it is not showing the rest of the URL. Could the length be the problem? Or the %20 's?

Here is the data from my moview.xml file. The picture occurs twice? Is that correct??

<movie>
<number>710</number>
<date><![CDATA[]]></date>
<media><![CDATA[]]></media>
<title><![CDATA[Along Came a Spider]]></title>
<year><![CDATA[2001]]></year>
<length><![CDATA[104]]></length>
<category><![CDATA[Thriller]]></category>
<director><![CDATA[Lee Tamahori]]></director>
<description><![CDATA[A girl is kidnapped from a school by one of the teachers.]]></description>
<picture><![CDATA[<img src="along came a spider.jpg">]]></picture>
<cdanzahl><![CDATA[]]></cdanzahl>
<picture><![CDATA[along came a spider.jpg]]></picture>
<actors><![CDATA[Morgan Freeman (as Alex Cross)]]></actors>
<rating><![CDATA[6]]></rating>
</movie>
*Guest* - Frau Holle
Posts: 46
Joined: 2002-12-14 19:24:59

Post by *Guest* - Frau Holle »

Hi,
delete CDATA! from your first picture-tag.
And delete the second picture-tag.
turtle

Post by turtle »

Cannot get it to work. Tried your suggested change, but now I lost my movie list. What should be the correct syntax?
antp
Site Admin
Posts: 9630
Joined: 2002-05-30 10:13:07
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by antp »

you have to change that in the template, not in the exported file
Post Reply